What is the NAICS?

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is an industry classification system developed by Statistics Canada in conjunction with the Mexican and United States governments. In total, there are 20 different industry sectors identified in NAICS, identified by a specific 2-digit sector code.

Industry CodeIndustry Code
11 Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting53 Real Estate and rental and leasing
21 Mining, quarrying, and oil and gas extraction54 Professional, scientific and technical services
22 Utilities55 Management of companies and enterprises
23 Construction56 Administrative and support, waste management and remediation services
31-33 Manufacturing61 Education services
41 Wholesale trade62 Health care and social assistance
44-45 Retail trade71 Arts, entertainment and recreation
48-49 Transportation and warehousing72 Accommodation and food services
51 Information and cultural industries81 Other services (except public administration)
52 Finance and insurance91 Public Administration

Each of the NAICS categories listed above can be broken down even further to a 3-digit, 4-digit, 5-digit level, with each level becoming more specific.  Let’s use Milk Production as a quick example to illustrate the levels:

  • 11 Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting
  • 112 Animal production and aquaculture
  • 1121 Cattle ranching and farming
  • 11212 Dairy cattle and milk production

How Do I find an Industry?

In total, there are over 900 Canadian industries listed in the NAICS, each with a different code to identify the specific industry.  For a complete list of all of the NAICS codes, the NAICS structure, and related information, users can download the full PDF document at Statistics Canada – NAICS.  Additional resources that users can access include:

There is much more information that you might be looking for about the NAICS that WDB would be glad to help you with.  Please feel free to contact us anytime at HelpDesk@wdb.ca.